MAS celebrates Māori medical practitioners at Te ORA awards

Aotearoa New Zealand’s top Māori healthcare professionals have been recognised at the recent Te ORA Awards, supported by MAS.

Te ORA represents Māori medical students and doctors working as clinicians, researchers and teachers. Its annual awards recognise excellence and dedication to health in Māori communities, with this year’s ceremony being held online in late July.

MAS is a proud sponsor of the awards and also supports two of the awards’ seven categories: the Tony Ruakere Iwi Health Award, which was won by Dr Kiri Bird (Ngāti Tukorehe, Ngāti Porou), and the Paratene Ngata Ngākau Ora Award, which was won by Dr Maia Melbourne-Wilcox (Ngāi Tūhoe).